Helianthus (Week 0)

Last week, I ordered Paris Sunflower Gardening Kit from www.lazada.com.ph to equip myself in case there would be a sudden zombie apocalypse…

unnamed
Photo from: https://lh4.ggpht.com/4Akv5EaOUYOrfrjXSUCVrW3EKuAhl5vB63mkw84vi4mSo7Mpr&0OZa00Vm3nfC5sps=h900

Just kidding! Since I am not a fan of flower bouquets (because I feel sad for the flowers that sacrificed their beautiful lives just to be given to someone and wait until they wither), why not try to grow my own flowers and let them live their lovely lives?

So today I planted the sunflower seeds and here are some highlights:

The gardening kit includes a metal pot, soil pellets, sunflower seeds, and instructions (not shown in the picture).

contents

The first step is to transfer the soil pellets into a separate container and pour a cup of lukewarm water then wait for ten minutes for the pellets to absorb the water.

I find this part really cool!

I placed the seeds a centimeter apart from each other and put a thin layer of soil over the seeds.

seedz
Looks like a trail mix

I covered the pot with plastic for moisture retention though my location’s humidity is quite high.

plastic

I also placed a layer of gravel at the bottom of the  pot to serve as a drainage but I forgot to take a picture because I was too excited to plant the seeds.

That’s about it. I hope that my sunflowers will grow. See you next week!

Leave a Reply

